Home Forums DISCUSSION FORUMS REFERENCES Growth Hormone Resistance

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    DrMariano2
    Participant

@00slotiv 2957 wrote:

I have been using HGH for two years and my IGF-1 continues to slowly plummet. Three ius a day, every night.

Generally is around 170 but has hit 130 recently. I am 48. I started on it when I found my IGF-1 to be 122. Has hit the 200s when I was overeating. Recent fasting insulin was about 3.7. This was near the bottom of the range, which I believe to be good.

I think the HGH is working for fat loss and hopefully helping me out of osteopenia, but is there anything I can do to increase the IGF-1. I mean, it is low enough for treatment!

Am I just fine the way it is? I am 175 pounds and 6 foot 2, in good shape I think. On TRT with level of high 600s on 70 mg twice a week. Bio only in the low 300s. This too had been higher.

When growth hormone fails to increase IGF-1 signaling, a person has Growth Hormone Resistance. Growth Hormone Resistance has multiple possible causes. It is important to examine for each of those causes to help improve response to growth hormone.

The partial circuitry involved in IGF-1 production is as follows:
    1. Growth Hormone Receptors are produced in Liver Cells.
    2. Growth hormone from the pituitary or exogenous source stimulates Growth Hormone Receptors.
    3. Stimulation of the Growth Hormone Receptor triggers within-cell signaling processes called signal transduction. Signal transduction includes activation of a protein called STAT5b.
    4. STAT5b triggers the production of IGF-1.
    5. Stimulation of the Growth Hormone Receptor also leads to the production of IGF Binding Protein 3 (IGFBP3) and Acid Labile Subunit (ALS).
    6. In circulation, IGF-1 Binds to IGFBP3. The two then bind to ALS. This combination lengthens the half-life of IGF-1 to 12-hours.